What's new

.net.au rankings

dima

Hi guys,

Just wondering what experiences people have had with regards to getting sites ranked for .net.au as opposed to .com.au

There still seem to be quite a few decent .net.au domains available, but wondering if it's worth the time to obtain and develop them...

Jonathan

Top Contributor
Welcome Dima!

The .net.au question has come up a couple of times over the past few months, and the consensus seems to be that they are significantly harder to rank. I'm sure some people will disagree with me, but my own personal experience seems to indicate that Google prefers .com.au's.

geodomains

Top Contributor
I've had a lot of experience now with .net.au domains and can say they are okay for selling affiliate type content, in my case accommodation, does not take long to get your money back and a bit more if its set up right.

The beauty of the com.au is Google does love them more than .net.au, absolutely no question in my mind, I've proved it with my hotel domains.

I have www.tours.net.au and is no where to be seen for term tours on Google, yet its a PR4 and has heaps of content, 6500 pages.

Now it does really well on the longtail keywords and was getting 600 visits a day in Feb 10 this year, so they can work, but have to use them in a different way.

Don

Rhythm

Top Contributor
At the moment:

Good for branding and/or marketing. (If whoever owns it can advertise)

Not good for ranking. (Yet?). Though I've come across some keywords where the [keyword].net.au ranks in the to 10.

eg, franchise, timber. So there's still a chance for tours.net.au and the like. May also depend on the keyword competition within the SERPs.

Last edited:

dima

Thanks for your input!

Think I will try stick clear of the .net.au if possible. See what com.au domains I can salvage...

Dimitri

Billy01

Top Contributor
My two bobs worth

in uber competitive areas, re insurance, personal loans etc anything with super high cpc .com.au is the only way to go.