What's new

What does it take to get clicks?

JDSaward

I'm new at this. At Above, getting hits but no clicks. Almost 200 domains. What does it take to get clicks and thus revenue?

I've checked many of the parking pages generated by Sedo and Bodis and provided via Above Managed, and they look good to me. See example of roofsolar.com.au. Looks like appropriate advertising. Typical of many others.

Screen Shot 2022-11-19 at 11.09.12.pngScreen Shot 2022-11-19 at 11.01.45.png

trellian

Top Contributor
These are the general rules:

- only real visitors do the clicks and are reported as clicks (bot based clicks are usually excluded)
- the more traffic the more clicks/revenues,
- unfortunately the CTR (click through ratio) can vary from 0% to close 100% depending on the domain, the traffic quality, and how relevant the ads are, in this case these the ads seem decent

I checked 9 other "solar" domains and have traffic and these were the findings:
- all 10 ( including yours) had the same keywords
- only 4 had clicks/revenues (and there were names that had 25 to 50 uniques each reported in a month, so a lot more traffic than your example domain.

In summary:

1. not all domains will generate revenues, and those that do the top earners generally make 90% of the revenues while the rest of the 90% of your domains will only make 10%

2. Your portfolio in total does not have a lot of traffic per day as yet, 3, 30 even 59 uniques per day is on the very low side if your strategy focus is on generating monetization revenues. At Drop a good indication of traffic is looking at the Backlink data point. Former sites have a tendency to have a lot more traffic especially from their existing links and as such have a much higher tendency to generate revenues on Above. So if you wish to focus on traffic names this is one strategy.

3. also look at minimising your renewal costs, Drop offers discount rates for domain renewals, as every little bit helps.

Cheers

JDSaward