1. Welcome to DNTrade. If you want to find out about the latest domain name industry news or talk, share, learn, buy, sell, trade or develop domain names - then you've come to the right place. It's a diverse and active community, with domain investors, web developers and online marketers - and it's free! Click here to join now.
    Dismiss Notice

Code Question

Discussion in 'Web Development' started by DnEbook, Jul 31, 2014.

  1. CityEnd

    CityEnd Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    You're almost correct.
    Code:
    <ul> 
    <li>Home</li>
    <li><a href="m3about.html">About</a></li>
    </ul> 
    
     
  2. Ash

    Ash Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    63
    So yours would look like:

     
  3. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,334
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    not sure why you are doing it this way but if this is a cut and paste you are missing > & <

    <a href="m3about.html" /a>

    should be
    <a href="m3about.html">about </a>
    tim
     
  4. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    Hey cool it worked, it seems the </li> was the problem, it is not required to be closed off it seems ? ..many thanks
     
  5. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    Tim i tried a number of ways and i do understand the link needs to be closed in, but the main concern was the end tag </li> so this is a good reference for me, thanks guys !!!
     
  6. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    Boy oh boy i added the </li> and yes all works, unsure where i first messed up. I'll have to go back and look at the replies, i have a result but got lost for a moment, cheers
    ~
    strange to note that on one page i left the </li> out at the end and it still worked, however i have added it in again and am grateful for the pointers !
     
  7. elbranch

    elbranch Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    29
    It might have worked on your browser within the surrounding code but being a serious omission it would have caused problems on other browsers along with creating long-term issues if you went to modify the code at a later time (such as adding another line in the list).
     
  8. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    Happy to agree, thanks
     
  9. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,334
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    always cross-browser test.

    nothing worse then completing a job and find that it doesn't work correctly on some browsers, still getting use to the MANY that we have to deal with these days.

    tim
     
  10. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    Yes good point, basically i will delete today's site and start again tomorrow with the hope a bit more sinks in
     
  11. elbranch

    elbranch Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    29
    If you are testing the code online you can check the HTML by running the URL through this validator:

    http://validator.w3.org/

    You don't have to get it 100% correct for example sometimes there are issues with "DOCTYPE" but you can check the actual code you are writing.

    If you are checking the code on your computer you can sometimes see if there is a problem by right clicking then selecting "View Page Source" and then checking the code section you are working on to see if there are any tags in red indicating an error. This works with Firefox not sure about other browsers.
     
  12. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    Cheers, i did use the w3 validator last week and it had a problem the <html> and </html> tags ?? Yet everything else was ok
     
  13. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    My latest attempt to do a ftp gets me this notice, worth noting i am just trying to copy a youtube video tutorial, maybe it is not telling me something?
    ~
    Forbidden

    You don't have permission to access /.ftpquota on this server.

    Additionally, a 500 Internal Server Error error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
     
  14. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    BIG THANKS to Tim ……..Phone Support !!
     
  15. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,334
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    auDA Member:
    Yes
  16. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    Luckily i do not have share holders saying wtf ??
    ~
    Todays homework was to do a ftp by myself, once logging onto filezilla i did do a successful ftp and then i opened up the site and yes it was there…. ripper! But then i clicked on one of the links only to lose the site. "Oh no" Then i remembered how Tim had explained i need to rename the main file to index (which i had done) but i had not done it to every other internal link in the file/page? What to do, ah go to my hosting and make the changes via code edit option ….. save and yipppeeee it worked. Clicked on a link in the footer and again a problem ?? What now ?? I did notice the failed page had a capitol letter at the start of the file …. back to code editor and yep there it was! A quick change back to lower case and the practice website www.428th.com exists.
    ~
    Quite satisfied !
     
  17. CityEnd

    CityEnd Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Great work!

    Another option you could have done as well, was to make a copy of the main file and rename it index.html and upload that.

    but it looks like you are gaining a lot of experiences from learning from your mistakes which I think is more important than getting it right the first time and not fully understanding what you did.
     
  18. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    I did rename the original but i thought it would be learning to use the cpanel then public html files to make the change, thanks
     
  19. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,334
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    the problem with doing it that way is the file on your computer is no longer named correctly, this will create problems down the road so best to start with good systems

    tim
     
  20. DnEbook

    DnEbook Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    766
    makes sense, both are the same at this point, many thanks