What's new

Useless Dead Websites - Dump Them?

Snooks

Top Contributor
Wel its a fact of life that eventually you learn that what you thought had potential, what you thought was a great domain name......well, they are in fact crap:(

So i guess im learning:)

So....I have 10-12 "projects" that i now realise are not worth pursuing, but im finding it hard to just dump them. Some had money spent on logos, minor funds on gaphics etc and its not worth putting them on DP Forum just to get $20 back. You need to realise, these were going to make me lots of money (lol)

What do you guys do? Youve taught me (though im still learning) what to look for in domains etc, but now i need to know how to accept a loss and save on hosting fees and domain names.

When do you know "enough is enough" and what do you do?

findtim

Top Contributor
ones mans rubbish is another mans gold ! so put them up on dnt and get some money.

you asked "what do we do" , my portfolio is 95% HIGHLY focused in areas i think i am good at, this way i can remain focused.

I also create websites with the view to duplicate them over and over again thus reducing dev costs, spend some money on the first one then pump them out. eg: geo based "sydneythis" "brisbanethat"

if i spend 3K on the first but then have another 9 similar then the cost of each is $300, if you can't make $300 p/a on a domain then don't buy it.

at 3pm each day i look at drops and if i don't have a business plan by 12.30 the next day then i do not bid.

my advice is to trim up your folio and get some focus, put them on dnt and you could get some money that will help you realign yourself, then be selective in the future.

tim

snoopy

Top Contributor
List them for auction, whatever doesn't sell allow to drop. By the sounds of it though they aren't going to realise much (if anything) so I wouldn't spend much time on the listings.