1. Welcome to DNTrade. If you want to find out about the latest domain name industry news or talk, share, learn, buy, sell, trade or develop domain names - then you've come to the right place. It's a diverse and active community, with domain investors, web developers and online marketers - and it's free! Click here to join now.
    Dismiss Notice

Trademark/Copyright

Discussion in 'General Domain Discussion' started by Nathan, Aug 29, 2011.

1. Nathan

Nathan Membership: Community

So I'm still learning about the .au domains, but I have a question... how can someone register a trademarked and/or copy written name?

For example, on netfleet http://www.netfleet.com.au/index.php?a=auctions

AngryBirds.com.au

Why would someone actually buy that domain? I mean you're just asking for a delete... Cyber squatting much?

Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
  2. James

James Membership: VIP

very true it is a risk that people will be willing to take for traffic.

The way around it is they can make a website about "Angry Brids in the wild" and have no connection with the game Angry Birds or something along those lines and try to get away with it.

I think it also comes down to the fact is the domain registered as a trademark in Australia? Look at the groupon.com.au example.

3. Nathan

I just don't understand why people do it, it's so annoying and discredits the real domainers, and these idiots give the industry a bad name.

In relation to Groupon, you'll actually find under a whois search that it's Groupon that owns Groupon.com.au and states they are the "Trademark Owner"

Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
  4. payattention

payattention Archived Member

I think it's important to evaluate each domain on a per case basis. Look at nissan.com, it's a good example of what most people would assume is squatting at face value but is anything but infringement.

5. Nathan