What's new

The best newb way to monetize domain

Hi,

as stated in my introduction im new to domains and have about 5 which in my opinion are ok names with some resale value in the future.

From my reading until I work out what/how to develop these further, I should 'park' these with a provider?

Does anyone make any sort of money from this? or is this a way to possibly earn a tiny bit of $ until it is developed?

Who would be the recommended 'parker'? I would guess there would be some companies out there who could lie about how many views/clicks you had?

Sorry if these are stupid questions

Thanks

findtim

Top Contributor
firstly ... I don't park, but that's just my choice, so I can only say what I have heard.

parking may just cover your reg fees, depending on the domain quality

the right parking is within AUda rules of keeping a domain.

parking with a "potentially for sale" sign CAN bring sales results.

other then that i'll leave it to the experts to respond.

tim

Thanks,

Could I ask why you don't park? If you've got it just sitting there how are you full filling auda rules?

You say the 'right' parking is within auda rules, are you able to elaborate on this?

Thanks

nt81

Top Contributor
Welcome aboard.

You may want to have a read of this first :)
http://www.auda.org.au/policies/current-policies/2012-04/

In particular

AUDA said:
Prohibition on registering domain names for sole purpose of resale
8. A registrant may not register a domain name for the sole purpose of resale or transfer to another entity.

AUDA said:
2. Domain names in the com.au 2LD must be:

a) an exact match, abbreviation or acronym of the registrant’s name or trademark; or

b) otherwise closely and substantially connected to the registrant, in accordance with the categories of “close and substantial connection” set out in the Guidelines on the Interpretation of Policy Rules for the Open 2LDs.