What's new

Taxes etc.....

goldnugget

Top Contributor
For those that are aware...what are tax obligations on domains?

Are they classed as assetts...appreciate/depreciate? A source of income? Naturaly if you have to declare earnings then losses would also apply (inc cost of maintaing and purchase/transfer costs, finance (if applicable) as well as any other costs incured in the course of producing an income).

Obviously there would be a few that make/maintain an income from domaining here, so what are some of the benifits/issues handling this aspect of the business?

Nobel

Hi goldnugget,

As an accountant, my advice is that you should be treating them as investments. Only those domainers that flip them quickly may be required to treat them like trading stock - however as we know, none of us buy for the purposes of resale so we all should be treating them as investments.

You can't claim depreciation on domains if you are treating them as investments. Only once you sell them will you be required to pay tax on any gains. Either way [whether you treat them as an investment or not], reg fees are deductible as an expense.

There are many more taxing issues to discuss so happy to answer questions via PM.

Cheers

goldnugget

Top Contributor
Thanks Nobel.

You can't claim depreciation on domains if you are treating them as investments

I'm guessing that maybe those that purchase (or have purchased) domains that have later proved a loss via resale or failure to renew would be able to claim them as a loss? (I havent done this yet but would assume others have)

The other main aspect I was looking at, I get that income generated from domains through parking etc would be treated as income and taxed accordingly, but if the opportunity came to sell domains/projects at a half decent (or decent) profit would it be treated as assett sales and maybe open to capital gains etc rather than a regular income for tax purposes.