1. Welcome to DNTrade. If you want to find out about the latest domain name industry news or talk, share, learn, buy, sell, trade or develop domain names - then you've come to the right place. It's a diverse and active community, with domain investors, web developers and online marketers - and it's free! Click here to join now.
    Dismiss Notice

So embarrassing - Wordpress

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by jhellyer, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. jhellyer

    jhellyer Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Sorry to annoy the seasoned professionals with this but I really need help.

    I have download Wordpress, built my first website and am ready to publish it to the Web .....but....how the hell do I publish it to my domain only with out the wordpress bit at the end? How do I get it from the www dot mysite dot com dot au/wordpress to just www dot mysite dot com dot au. Hope that makes sense?

    I am reading all this FTP stuff and it has made my head spin...any help would be sooooooo appreciated. I am using CPanel if that helps anyone..:confused:

    P.S Yes I looked online first put could not find anything to follow & I know it is probably really simple but ffs I can not work it out...lol
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
  2. NicMason.com

    NicMason.com Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi JH,

    You installed Wordpress into that directory (www dot mysite dot com dot au/wordpress). I haven't looked into the internal links of Wordpress recently, but it will likely break that installation if you tried to move it up one level (to public_html, which is where you want it.)


    I'm assuming you haven't written much into the blog yet..? If so the solution below will suit.


    The easiest solution is to:

    1. Make a backup of your site as it currently stands, just so you can re-upload any customisations you've made. Delete the "wordpress" folder and it's contents after you've made a backup.

    2. Create a new database (or delete and re-create the current one) so you can make a clean start.

    3. Extract contents of the original "wordpress" zip folder to "public_html".

    4. If it extracts everything inside the "wordpress" folder, then go inside that folder, select everything, then "move" everything (up one level) to "public_html".

    5. To start your installation, simply go to: www dot mysite dot com dot au
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
  3. Ash

    Ash Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    63
    Backup Buddy is supposed to be useful for migrating wordpress sites.
     
  4. Honan

    Honan Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    88
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    You should not need to use FTP
    Nearly all hosts have a option to instal wordpress through url/Cpanel
    During the instal process the path will be URL/wordpress
    Just delete the word "wordpress" when you get to the path option
    What host are you using?
     
  5. jhellyer

    jhellyer Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI Honan,

    Using VentraIP as a host currently. Hope this helps.

    Cheers
     
  6. Honan

    Honan Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    88
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    Ok
    Go to yourdomain/cpanel in your browser
    "yourdomain" is your domain name

    The password and user id are the same as FTP

    Now go to Installtron
    Find wordpress
    Install it
    Only change one thing as you go through the steps
    Take out the word wordpress from the path and leave it blank
    Let it handle the data base
    It takes about 1 minute

    You can then do all uploads through Wordpress at URL/admin including images video and plugins
     
  7. NicMason.com

    NicMason.com Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    This can all be done through CPanel, BTW. I thought you might have been familiar with CPanel. Sorry, if the solution was too advanced.



     
  8. joe

    joe Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'd go the cpanel route but i think the easiest way would be to go into general settings in your WP dashboard, look for "Site address (URL)" and remove "/wordpress"

    i.e. example.com/wordpress becomes example.com

    next time upload the contents of the wordpress folder to public_html, not the folder itself

    p.s. if that doesn't work as-is then this page should help you out: http://codex.wordpress.org/Changing_The_Site_URL
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
  9. sp@rky13

    sp@rky13 Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    The issue with that is that there's a few things that have to be edited in the database for it to work. For me, that's the easiest way, though I know how to use databases etc (not that it's too complicated)
     
  10. Honan

    Honan Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    88
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    I just use export / import under tools in url/admin to move my simple pages and posts including pics
     
  11. joe

    joe Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    come to think of it i have a feeling what i suggested won't work. Long day, fuzzy brain = no warranties. Might be worth a shot, though
     
  12. johno69

    johno69 Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    422
    auDA Member:
    Yes
  13. jhellyer

    jhellyer Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much for all your suggestions, I'll give it a crack and let you know the outcome. :)
     
  14. jam

    jam Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jhellyer,

    It is really simple…
    Read http://codex.wordpress.org/Giving_WordPress_Its_Own_Directory

    If you have it installed at www.domain.com.au/wordpress do the following.
    1. Go to Settings > General
    In the box for Site address (URL): change the address to the root directory's URL. Example: http://www.domain.com.au
    2. Click Save Changes. (Do not worry about the error message and do not try to see your blog at this point! You will probably get a message about file not found.)
    3. Copy (NOT MOVE!) the index.php and .htaccess files from the WordPress (domains.com.au/wordpress) directory into the root directory of your site.
    4. Open your root directory's index.php file in a text editor
    Change the following and save the file. Change the line that says:
    require('./wp-blog-header.php');
    to the following, using your directory name for the WordPress core files:
    require('./wordpress/wp-blog-header.php');
    5. Login. http://www.domain.com.au/wordpress/wp-admin/
    6. If you have set up Permalinks, go to the Permalinks panel and update your Permalink structure.
    7. All done
     
  15. jhellyer

    jhellyer Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    woooo....hoooooo success..took me a while to get my head around it but I got there....thanks to everyone for their help so greatly appreciated.

    It is no where near finished but if you want you can see my first attempt at www.fast-finance.com.au :eek:)
     
  16. joe

    joe Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    I knew I was missing something, sounded way too simple as I was typing it :)

    Looks nice!

    Suggestions:
    * I'd recommend setting permalinks to %postname% for /nicer-looking-urls/
    * Some of your social buttons seem to be missing the http://
    * there's a wayward backslash here: "we can talk to over forty of Australia\'s leading banks"
    * you might want to install an seo plugin to give you more control over your title tags etc, this is a good one -> http://yoast.com/wordpress/seo/
    * don't forget to unblock search engines in Privacy settings when you're ready to unleash it
     
  17. jhellyer

    jhellyer Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    some good ideas there Joe which we certainly do, I've only done the very basics at this stage and there is a lot to still complete on the page, made changes as you stated thanks heaps. :)
     
  18. johno69

    johno69 Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    422
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    Not this one you didn't.

     
  19. jhellyer

    jhellyer Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol...na...havn't got to that yet. :)