What's new

SEO Value Of Drop Domains and Legal Question??

Hi

I just found this forum - lots of great information, thanks.
I am relatively new to domain buying but have done quite a lot of research. 2 questions:

1. From an SEO perspective, if i but a domain via auction at netfeet and the likes, and those domains have solid links - will they be good for SEO purposes if i rebuild a website and then link out from that website to a 'money' site. I have read conflicting views on if these 'dropped' domains have any benefit even if the links are good to them. Any comments appreciated.

2. If i buy a domain at auction that a company has accidentally forgot to renew and the domain has their company name in , eg abbottworworking.com.au where abbott woodworking is their registered business/company name - can they make any claim against me if i repurpose the website, say, in this example, to sell or blog about woodworking and equipment for woodworking??? Can their lawyers or domain governing body make me sell the domain back to them or claim i am trying to make false representations in any way??

thanks in advance

Marty

James

Top Contributor
The thing about expired domains and SEO is the domain can go down for 6 months and be de-indexed and Google is aware of this. When a new buyer picks up the domain on the drops if the domain is already deindexed from the serps its probably not going to be as powerful as a indexed dropped domain.

Plus Google has changed the way they do business in the past say 5 years ago people use to throw up a network with 50 dropped domains and rank for a money term all on the same IP/ similar footprints. Google picks up this thing now and wiped them all out. I saw a network with over 150+ clients get wiped out recently for a spammer agency its the type of thing people sue over now.