What's new

Newbie Question: Anyone know what a Virtualisation Conflict is?

marketingweb

Top Contributor
Hi All,

Happy New year, and apologies my first post here is a question!

Last night around 9pm prior to going out for New Years I attempted to register a total of 7 domain names through Hostess.com.au

5 of the 7 worked fine and I got emails through, however two of them are showing up as status "virtualisation conflict" in the hostess.com.au control panel.

Can anyone help me as to what this means? I notice on the ausregistry whois it correctly shows me as the owner (a good sign), BUT it has status as "inactive" rather than "ok" which it does for the other 5.

I have googled this term and it comes up with nothing relevant. Has anyone ever heard of this before or can explain it? I'm VERY new at this so any advice is appreciated!

One thing relevant is that these two names have both recently been registered then had their registrations lapsed, whereas the other five have never been registered to the best of my knowledge. However given they were showing up as not being registered in a ausregistry whois when I tried to register them, this should be fine shouldnt it?

Hoping someone can help!

paz

Hi,

Are you sure the two were once registered, and had their registrations lapse...or were they deleted?

marketingweb

Top Contributor
Hi Paz,

Thanks for the reply.

Not sure at all - I have idea if they are deleted or lapsed or what. They definitely are NOT anything controversial in topic that would have the names banned at all if thats what you mean. Other than that i'm not familiar with the difference.

All I know is that I came across both of these along with a third one a couple months ago that had no actual sites there, but a whois search said they were registered.... but due for renewal soon. Cant remember exact renewal dates but had to be have been in the last couple weeks sometime.