1. Welcome to DNTrade. If you want to find out about the latest domain name industry news or talk, share, learn, buy, sell, trade or develop domain names - then you've come to the right place. It's a diverse and active community, with domain investors, web developers and online marketers - and it's free! Click here to join now.
    Dismiss Notice

Multiple domains on one website

Discussion in 'SEO & SEM Discussions' started by DonGreen, Apr 17, 2014.

  1. DonGreen

    DonGreen Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi from a relative newbie.

    I havean established website:
    Code:
    http://australiarentals.com.au/
    I have just managed to grab the following domain:
    Code:
    myholidayrentals.com.au/
    I would appreciate thoughts on whether to try establishing a permanent redirect, so both URLs pont to exactly the same site, and hopefully, are treated as one site by Google, or run two sites with different branding, but otherwise identical content?

    On a side note, the next thread down contains a great looking backlink report. Excuse my ignorance, but what app or site was used?

    Cheers, Don
     
  2. James

    James Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    460
    If you want to run two sites and keep them separate then use different content, different hosts, different who is data if you are concerned. Here is some additional reading on this topic - http://jamesnorquay.com/ex-googlers-competitive-seo-research-tool-you-have-to-try/

    The backlinks tool is called Ahrefs here is a review I did on it for the Australian market - http://backlinks.com.au/australian-review-of-ahrefs-backlink-analysis-tool/ it is not cheap but it is fairly good for freshness of links.
     
  3. DonGreen

    DonGreen Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks James

    I'd rather not run two sites, but ideally I guess I would ike to run one site, with different branding for each domain, but the same content. I guess in this case there is no way to share any SEO juice between the two "sites".
     
  4. Bacon Farmer

    Bacon Farmer Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    604
    Don, can I ask why you think it's a good idea to run two identical sites?

    What are you trying to achieve?
     
  5. DonGreen

    DonGreen Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just like the 2 domain names, one from a historical perspective, I had australiarentals as an active website a while back, the other is more to the point if the website I guess, Holiday Rentals.
     
  6. nt81

    nt81 Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    44
    To answer some questions :

    Most cPanel hosting will allow you to have extra "add-on domains" if your quota of add-on domains allows this

    So for example, your main hosting might be

    Main : www.website-a.com.au (it's own separate site)
    Add-on : www.website-b.com.au (it's own separate site)

    Sometimes, you might prefer that both domains share the same hosting, handy when you want multiple TLD's on one hosting account. They will usually call this "parked domains" as they are parked on the main hosting and redirect to it.

    e.g

    Main Site : mydomain.com.au
    Parked : mydomain.com
    Parked : Mydomain.biz
    Parked : dubbo.domains

    ;)

    * Disclaimer : Some hosts wont' allow Addon Domains, or Parked domains. It depends on who you have hosting with and what they include.

    Where I work, it is one active domain per hosting account(unlimited parked domains underneath). Every separate site then requires a separate hosting account. We do this for security and diagnostics reasons. Digging through 32 subdomains for an error = not fun.
     
  7. James

    James Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    460
    If you have two sites with identical content, and one site is already indexed. The second site will not be effective in ranking for the same or similar terms. I have tested this many times over the years. The way around this is you can copy some content but you also need to have a large portion of unique content. Many big news syndication sites get past this because they are already authority properties. In the end of the day unique content will work the best.
     
  8. DonGreen

    DonGreen Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks James. I just need to choose one and run with it.

    Last question, does the MyHolidayRentals domain name have enough advantage over my AustraliaRentals name to justify the switch? I'm looking for search traffic to do with holiday accommodation rentals.
     
  9. Bacon Farmer

    Bacon Farmer Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    604
    You're competing against the likes of:

    Stayz.com.au
    Wotif.com.au
    Rent-a-Home.com.au

    So that's 2 bastardised spellings and a hyphen rich domain.

    What that means is a keyword rich domain isn't necessary. So it might be better to go with something memorable and brandable.

    AustraliaRentals doesn't exactly describe what your site is about.

    MyHolidayRentals does.

    Any search engine keyword benefit from both is negligible given monthly search exacts are 20 and 10 respectively.

    You could even consider other domains such as this one http://www.netfleet.com.au/AustralianHolidayRentals.com.au or

    http://www.netfleet.com.au/RentHolidayHouses.com.au (both owned by members here).

    There are other members here whom have some very nice holiday related domains too if you have a big budget ;-)
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2014
  10. James

    James Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    460
    I guess you need to thing about branding when you do a project like this, we use to manage the SEO/ consulting activity for: vacationhomerentals.com

    Which is a US targeted site and they do VERY well for that market against established players like HomeAway. I think they were doing around 700k UV/ month from organic alone. Australia is a far smaller market yet still plenty of opportunity.
     
  11. helloworld

    helloworld Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    170
    I think in this instance OP wants to Park the domain on his main site.

    Good for PPC stragegies on php based sites apart fromo Wordpress which seems to revert to the original domain once a (menu)link has been clicked
     
  12. nt81

    nt81 Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    44
    Wordpress can be configured for multi-site (WPMU) mode, but it is messy.
     
  13. DonGreen

    DonGreen Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone. The site is a .NET site, so I have full control over whether my menus change domain or not. Still deciding whether to run 2 domains and brands, or just permanently redirect everyone to MyHolidayRentals.com.au
     
  14. snoopy

    snoopy Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    1,860
    The second domain doesn't justify a shift in my view. It is ok but I don't think you are going to get any real benefit from a change.
     
  15. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,459
    Likes Received:
    1,632
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    wpmu IS MESSY, i have 2 different versions running and they have both been total hassles to setup.

    first is single admin for all sites, 2nd is individual admin log ins

    both don't allow admin editing of the functions.php and CSS so you have do it via FTP which is a real pain.

    just my 2 cents worth on the subject.

    but if you get past the setup its not a bad system.

    but also incredibly difficult to get a good backup of and backup buddy doesn't do it correctly so you are back to cpanel and ftp which is time consuming and greedy on space and download times.

    i have 1 with 7 sites and it is a 7 hour backup on ADSL2

    just fyi

    tim
     
  16. DonGreen

    DonGreen Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Tim, but I'm not using Wordpress and there is no point turning this thread into a discussion about the benefits or otherwise of Wordpress.
     
  17. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,459
    Likes Received:
    1,632
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    i didn't mean to steal the thread ,sorry
    tim
     
  18. Jamie-AU

    Jamie-AU Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    8
    I think that in many cases, the full word "Australia" in a com.au domain is superfluous, as the country code already indicates that the website is something to do with Australia.