1. Welcome to DNTrade. If you want to find out about the latest domain name industry news or talk, share, learn, buy, sell, trade or develop domain names - then you've come to the right place. It's a diverse and active community, with domain investors, web developers and online marketers - and it's free! Click here to join now.
    Dismiss Notice

How to increase cost of Google ads?

Discussion in 'Monetisation' started by Ashman, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. Ashman

    Ashman Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    76
    Is there any way to set the minium amount $ you are willing to receive (CPC) as a promoter of google ads?

    It hardly seems worth while to promote ads that are only paying a few cents per click when the Adsense CPC data says advertiser are paying much higher.

    Basically I want to only display ads which advertisers are paying over a certain amount. Otherwise I feel I am promoting other businesses for no return.
     
  2. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,334
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    i don't know but a bloody good question which i'll try to get some time to investigate, meanwhile hopefully someone will give us a link to the answer?
    tim
     
  3. duncan22

    duncan22 Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    10
    No, thats not possible.

    What you can do is make your account only show ads from certain industries or individually stop showing ads from certain domains which are low value ads.

    Google however tries to maximise their own profit for every single page view of your site. They will show the ad most likely to be clicked which result in the highest profit for them (and you) as determined by past history.

    Best you don't exclude ads as Google will eventually do this for you anyway if it makes more money.

    CPC data from the Keyword tool is based on search not the display network so your earnings from the display network will always be far lower.

    You may not have enough appropriate content so Google does not know what ads to place, best thing to do would be to add some more content to help Google place relevant ads.
     
  4. Ashman

    Ashman Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    76
    Thanks for the clarification. The ads that are showing are relevant to my content its just that they don't pay much.

    I wonder if Google tells the advertisers if the clicks were generated from search or display network.
     
  5. Chris.C

    Chris.C Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    124
    That's probably more to do with your niche than anything else.

    They definitely tell advertisers.

    And FWIW I tend to drop my bid prices on the display network by 70% if I show ads at all...

    The display network has always been a pretty poor performer for me.
     
  6. DavidL

    DavidL Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    19
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    Try and find a tangent maybe that might be more lucrative and add content related to that.

    Use the GAKT to find the search terms that cost the most and write content around them.

    Alternatively (and I may stand corrected), depending on your page layout, maybe reduce the number of ads you show. My understanding is that this will mean only the higher paid ads will show. CTR will probably go down but may be worthwhile.

    Duncan, is that the case?
     
  7. duncan22

    duncan22 Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    10
    I am pretty sure that's just a rumour and you should use the max number of ad units Google allows on each page (3 i think). The ads will display from top of the screen (highest cpc) to the bottom.

    Best practice is to use only 300x250 ad units as these are the most common sized banner companies make so there is more competition. You should also use Google's default colour scheme for the ad units as people have been 'trained' to click ads.

    It is possible to split test ad units so if the site has enough traffic thats what you should do to see which configuration works best.
     
  8. Ashman

    Ashman Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    76
    Thanks for the advice Duncan. I have implemented some of your recommendations.