What's new

Hello! I'm a newbie with questions

Toots

Hello Everyone,

I'm a stay at home Mum from SA who is looking for ways to earn an income from home while I raise my kiddies.

I'm looking at developing websites to earn money from through advertising so I hope I'm in the right place?

I'm coming across a few issues. One being the issue with buying a domain name with .com.au.
Do I need an ABN? if so, what's the process to do so for the purpose of earning an income from monetising websites?

Can anyone point me in the right direction or give me any advice for the answers to these questions?

:)

findtim

Top Contributor
welcome toots, this is a great place to learn, using the search function for keywords and then reading the threads you will pickup alot of knowledge on a variety of subjects.

tim

DavidL

Top Contributor
Hi Toots,

Welcome to DNT!

I think that sort of a business is a great idea to do part time. It's low risk, you can teach yourself and it's fun too. However unfortunately you do need an ABN to run an Aussie website.

I'm expect you probably don't want to run off and register a formal business name and ABN etc just to get a website started but unfortunately auDA don't cater for:

start-ups,
microbusinesses,
bloggers,
families,
individuals,
students,
etc.

So you're probably better off getting a .com to be honest. Or 'cheating' and registering the domain in a friend or family's ABN.

Best of luck!

David

PS stick around though as this forum has loads of great info on development, promotion and monetising

findtim

Top Contributor
cheat, fine, but going down the path of a .com i think is unwise ( if you intend to do something local or within australia only). just like going fishing and coming back smelling like bait without a fish.

make the effort and get an abn, you don't have to register for GST so there's no real paperwork, then source a reasonable .com.au htere's still a billion ones available.