What's new

Buying Domains With Page Rank

AusSi

Hi All,

I was wondering if anyone has any experience in buying domains names that have page rank? Is this even possible?
I signed up to drop because I thought I might find some domains in here but these domains are all expired so i can even check if they used to have page rank?

I know buying aged domains is huge for .com domains and it can be done through godaddy, how do you do the same thing here?

Any help / advice would be greatly appreciated.

Chris.C

Top Contributor
I posted this in your intro thread but it's probably more appropriate here:

In regards to the sorts of domains you are looking for, I'm not an expert in the field of buying aged domains with PR (some guys on these forums might be though), but I would be careful to buy domains for only those reasons.

There seems to be some anecdotal evidence that Google discounts authority of domains when they change hands, particularly if they are expired or the content on the domains is changed once the transfer has taken place.

It would be worth doing a bit of reading into before dropping big money on those sorts of domains. If you do follow it up please do share your findings with the rest of us.

PS here are a couple more recent articles on a similar tangent:

http://www.seroundtable.com/archives/021832.html
http://www.webmasterworld.com/google/4219389.htm

I was wondering if anyone has any experience in buying domains names that have page rank? Is this even possible?
My limited understanding (please get other advice) is that when you buy an active website with pagerank after an owner transfers the pagerank remains relatively similar.

That said when it comes to expire domains my limited understanding is that Google resets the authority of the domain to a large degree.