1. Welcome to DNTrade. If you want to find out about the latest domain name industry news or talk, share, learn, buy, sell, trade or develop domain names - then you've come to the right place. It's a diverse and active community, with domain investors, web developers and online marketers - and it's free! Click here to join now.
    Dismiss Notice

Bloody Optus !!

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by findtim, Jun 8, 2017.

  1. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,341
    Likes Received:
    1,509
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    i got nbn today ! ummm, well i still haven't but apparently i do?
    they were suppose to send me a new modum monday, didn't arrive so i rang them and they said DEFINATELY will arrive, it didn't
    so i rang tuesday ( dare i say i suspect i wasn't talking to an australian?) , they said, ohhh, no we have run out of modems, you'll get it next week, to which i said " but nbn is getting installed thursday"
    they said " its ok, we leave your adsl on until the modem arrives, but we still switch nbn on.
    so i rang again wednesday, just checking. i asked THREE times "will my service be interupted" and the reply was no, no , 100% no
    so i wake up this morning.........no internet !
    so i ring, i get told my modem isn't compatable, but adsl is still meant to be working?
    ohh no sir, it gets switched off and then reactivated.
    so how long?
    a couple of hours
    what 2, 4, ? 4pm today, tonight?
    a couple of hours.
    so i had to go out and i get a text message saying its all done, give optus a call if you need help.
    cool, so i come home, no internet and now NO PHONE
    so i ring, i get passed around and finally get a guy who says " yes, its in the system, it will start working within 24-48 hours " WTF !!!!!!
    8 different people i have spoken to today and the last guy is the one that tells me the truth, he also said that EVERYBODY that switches from optus adsl to nbn will experience 24-48 down time.
    NOBODY mentioned that at any stage.

    so anyway, thankfully i also have a usb mobile broadband stick and i'm using that, i'll hotspot from my mobile as well and i've contacted billing and said i am not go to pay for the excess usage.
    i checked and its all be detailed in my account.

    because........ i strongly suspect it will get switched on and my modem will not work and it will be another week beofre i get the new one.

    so be warned.

    tim
     
  2. chris

    chris Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    820
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    I had a similar issue with Telstra, not NBN - but regular ADSL. Had a fault, and the "fix" was the break it for a few days until it was sorted.

    Thank heavens for 4g...
     
  3. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,341
    Likes Received:
    1,509
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    so optus ring me this arvo.
    they say there are no modems in the warehouse but maybe by monday ! thats going to be hard since monday is a public holiday down here, so tuesday maybe, wednesday maybe?

    WHY would you not have stock? and WHY would you go ahead with an install knowing its going to shut someones internet down?
    the guys says " oh i found out your current modem wasn't compatible but i thought at least when you get your modem it will work straight away " !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    uummmmm no, i told the woman " if its not going to work do not install it" !!!

    tim
     
  4. Shane

    Shane Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    710
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    I'm going through similar frustrations with Telstra at the moment.

    Switching the home connection from iinet ADSL to Telstra cable. It's been two weeks since the order went through and they still haven't sent the new modem. Blame keeps getting switched between Telstra and the courier. Hours wasted on the phone. Completely useless...
     
  5. Robert Crain

    Robert Crain Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    25
    My dad recently had issues with optus mobile. He thought it was the phone, I said it was the network. When you spoke to him over the phone, he sounded like he was in a tin shed, standing 10 metres from the phone. He went to apple, replaced the phone (ws nothing wrong with the phone - apple were great. Same problem, so he went to optus again but they said its a phone issue - it was a new phone. His NBN, also through optus gets only (on average) 3.61Mbps.....3G is faster.

    I told him to piss off optus, so he paid the handset out the other day and went with telstra, now when we chat over mobile, it's like he's sitting next to me. You pay more with telstra...but the end product is better. BUT....in saying that, I bought my son an iphone 6s (he didn't want the 7) last week through telstra (franchised) in Mittagong. Sales girl was going on about their lease plan but I said I wanted my son to own the phone, not lease it. I told her 3/4 times. That night, I get on the ipad, check some emails.......swap plan. Bloody hell. I went back the next day but 'they couldn't do anything', so I got on chat and it took 3 days, but I'm now on the plan I want, you just need to be firm with them. Be careful with these franchises though....
     
  6. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,341
    Likes Received:
    1,509
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    i had to laugh, they asked who i spoke to first? as if they are in the same room !!!.
    thats why i made them put it in the notes and read it back to me, i then made every subsequent person read me also the previous persons notes.
    i also record the last 2 phone calls telling me my mobile will not be charged for hotspotting, so lets hope that goes smoothly ? as i go through gigsss a day and 1 gig on mobile is $10

    tim
     
  7. Cooper Mills DomainLawyer

    Cooper Mills DomainLawyer Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    515
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    A friend in the industry tells me that the NBN ordering platform is so broken that only about 15% of orders are successfully processed, all of the rest need manual involvement. One common issue for example NBN system shows NTU serial number 123456 is with Tim, but actually the reason Tim's service doesnt work is that he actually has NTU78910, and his neighbour Bob NTU 123456....crazy
     
  8. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,341
    Likes Received:
    1,509
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    yes, i was told mine had to be done manually as well !!!! but that was only after they cut my phone off !
    tim
     
  9. Scott.L

    Scott.L Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    375
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    And, in some cases, the NTD only contains 1 internet data port and 2 voice...first in best dressed. Especially, for those in appartments or units.

    Also, if you have a Telstra fax/duet it will not work.
     
  10. Scott.L

    Scott.L Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    375
    auDA Member:
    Yes
  11. Christopher

    Christopher Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    178
    I have nbn depending on what hardware they installed on your property, the network is designed to allow you to plug direct into the nbn router, its an always on connection. That's why it needs to be powered. Speaking to the techs, I could actually do away with the isp's router, because it always on, your router is actually connected via the wan port for distributing wifi, and if you don't have a pbx line (optus, telstra) then voip, the reason Tim you would have had issues, is because optus use two different technologies to send the pbx signal one via your old copper and one via the nbn optic fibre, your down time would have been internal re-routing, and staff delays with setup etc. You also would have been victim to their porting of accounts from adsl to NBN. I had similar issues with iinet. But no down time. because the phone lines on iinet are only on voip, once we established a new connection, they switched over the voip over night, and the next day, when i had no dial tone, I pluged it into the other line and whola. Once that was established, a phone call to support, helped close down the old account.
    Since then however, I've switched to another NBN provider. The pain of setting up nbn has long gone away. and the next pain i had was speed. Working from home, two laptops and spotify, or watching catchup tv, we used to have problems with stream speeds, and things like trello & slack would loose connections all the time. I found a new provider that was kind of risky but had proven to be reliable over seas. And signed up on their month to month plan.

    To know which NBN im on, its the Fibre to the Premise FTTP. Which has an actual line speed of 10gbs. (specs are on the NBN website) There are 4 ports for internet, and 2 for PBX (Fax, monitored alarm, old phone). On each port the actual speeds are a fourth 2.5gbs. And we'll probably find they'll eventually reserve some of that for testing, and other traffic. Now I found out whilst checking with the tech, that I can actually use all four ports, but they have to be setup from either my account from the isp, and it would be a new plan/account, or I could use another provider entirely. Which is what I did when I signed up to My Republic. I signed up for a dollar, I waited four days, hardware didn't come, but contacted their support (which was terrible mind you, but it was cheap, so I gave them slack, also they only have one plan speed. 100/40). Whilst on live chat, I told them I already had NBN, so didn't need all the fluff of connection, and the support person, then turned on my connection and tested it whilst i was on chat, which was good. I then had to wait another 7 days for the hardware, because they initially wanted to offer it to a small section of Australia, they didn't count on being written up on smh and other tech blogs and go viral, they ran out of hardware, The tech did however tell me, the only reason I needed their hardware was for my voip connection. Which they configure on their end and push to their hardware. I requested the username sip, and password for the voip, because I wanted to use an ip phone instead, which they eventually complied, as I said I was a home business and needed a different setup. The tech said because I was porting the voip, I could actually use the new connection via a lan cable and it was actually up to iinet to finish the transfer from their end, and after that and the reconnection on my republic I could close my iinet account and connection (Which took 30minutes mind you, they didn't even ask why i was leaving).

    Whilst having both at the same time, I had my wife on the old connection, and I was on the new one, testing out the speeds, and my back log of updates, etc. One issue I found was inconsistencies of speed, some Googling highlighted the Cat5e cable could be old and attributes to speed and connection issues, I raided my box of cables, and discovered this was true, one gave me speeds of 45mbs whilst a newer one gave my 93.5mbs/ 38mbs I tested using a download manager, a 1 gb file with 24 simultaneous connections took me 6 minutes to download. I also wanted to test out the isp's claim of unlimited (non metered) I really pushed this then next couple of weeks until the voip churned over and the wife was forced to use the new connection. And yup no fine print, It was extremely heavy backlog of updates, backups of sites, etc. Not quite a TB but close to it.

    What I learned whilst researching because you can have all four ports run at the same time, they could be from other isps or the same one, You can actually combine them with another piece of hardware (a load balancing router, or edge router) Some business have them setup as a fall back line, so they are always on. to push them all together into one for your home network. And you then get the combined speeds, depending on what you are doing, if it allows multiple connections. You'd also have four ips, and might have issues, with that.

    As a guide i'm paying 59.99 a month for 100/40 unlimited, and my voip has been setup on a $0 month PAYG model, we rarely use it, its for inbound calls on the web page, and family that still needs to call a land line.
     
    Scott.L likes this.
  12. Cooper Mills DomainLawyer

    Cooper Mills DomainLawyer Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    515
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    very interesting feedback from everyone, personally I would rather get TPG fibre instead of NBN (I got a quote to build the TPG fibre to my house, $16,500 from the nearest pit :(). I have a 400/400 fibre connection in my office which is awesome, unfortunately NBN cant even compare.
     
    Christopher likes this.
  13. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,341
    Likes Received:
    1,509
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    is that the tpg "money pit"
    tim
     
  14. Christopher

    Christopher Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    178
    The current market has NBN capped, at 100/100, some providers are offering 200/200 on NBN, The company i wrote about MyRepublic have been petitioning for 1gig plans, they were the first provider in Singapore, and New Zealand to release these speeds, yet the competition was still at 100 speeds. I've signed up for the wait list.

    For business if your prepared to pay, you could probably track down a wholesaler that will give you some of the good bandwidth http://www.nbnco.com.au/content/dam/nbnco2/documents/temporary-special-services-white-paper.pdf (Page 7) would love to get some TC-4 traffic class speed tiers
     
  15. Scott7

    Scott7 Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    517
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    I think this post counts as a free ebook. :D
    Thanks Chris. :cool:
     
    Christopher likes this.
  16. Cooper Mills DomainLawyer

    Cooper Mills DomainLawyer Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    515
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    yes literally!
     
  17. Cooper Mills DomainLawyer

    Cooper Mills DomainLawyer Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    515
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    A mate of mine runs works in the Telco Industry and apart from the TPG fibre build he said I could do a dark fibre build back to the Next DC data centre which isnt to far from my place and terminate on their equipment, which would give me 1Gbps! Again cost is even higher than TPG plus there are the termination charges on the DC side. Very frustrating. This is why the government should never have built NBN. John Howard had the best plan called Opal (a mate of mine worked on it), the idea was that the private sector would keep investing in Telco as normal and those area like rural and regional areas where it was uneconomical for them to build high speed internet, would be government subsidised on the basis that the infrastructure was open access. If that plan had of stayed everyone would have had very high speed internet by now.
     
    Christopher, Scott.L and Scott7 like this.
  18. Scott.L

    Scott.L Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    375
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    We can all thank Kevin Rudd and his labor losers for turning fast internet into a political shemozzle; 3 cheers to Malcolm Turnbull for shoving a bunch of skeletons in his closet whilst hoping FTTN will pull the wool over the eyes of everyone long enough until, the next twit takes office and begins to parrot the same pathetic excuses.
     
    Christopher likes this.
  19. findtim

    findtim Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7,341
    Likes Received:
    1,509
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    so , tuesday now, modem gets left on porch at 7.30am
    pretty easy setup and i'm now getting 20.63mbps

    tim
     
    Christopher likes this.
  20. Cooper Mills DomainLawyer

    Cooper Mills DomainLawyer Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    515
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    what connectivity do you have Tim ? Fibre to the Node or HFC ?