1. Welcome to DNTrade. If you want to find out about the latest domain name industry news or talk, share, learn, buy, sell, trade or develop domain names - then you've come to the right place. It's a diverse and active community, with domain investors, web developers and online marketers - and it's free! Click here to join now.
    Dismiss Notice

Adsense question - ad units - single page but with page breaks

Discussion in 'PPC Advertising' started by shags38, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. shags38

    shags38 Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    7
    I was previously banned from Adsense for being a naughty boy so with my second chance I do not want to screw things up so if this seems like a dumb question then please excuse me but I am treading very carefully now.

    If a page has several page breaks so that a page becomes say 10 pages (shown as < previous 123456 > next ) can the allowable maximum number of ad units be placed on each "page" before the page break or is the page that has several page breaks counted as a single page with sub pages so therefore only allowed one set of ad units? Each page has it's own url - when page breaks are added in my CMS the url changes with the insertion of a break to "articles-02.html, articles-03.html" - so I assume that Google adsense is recognizing each individual url and hence each url can have the maximum allowable ad units (and the fact that they are page breaks doesn't matter) - is this correct?

    cheers,
    Shags
     
  2. payattention

    payattention Archived Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    20
    3 blocks per page/url.
     
  3. DavidL

    DavidL Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    19
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    Is that just for ad units not link units though? I thought you can havbe more link units.

    I know I have a page with 3 ad units and 3 link units too and all seems fine.

    Shags I don't think Google would punish you for putting too many ads on - they would probably just automatically prevent the 4th, 5th etc from showing.
     
  4. Chris.C

    Chris.C Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    124
    Yes.
     
  5. Snooks

    Snooks Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you sure? lol

    I just got a warning and suspension of one site, about 3 months ago for too many ads. I had 3 ad blocks on the page, a header and two sidebar blocks. The issue was that google only allow the ad content to be a mximum of 30% above the fold , of the CONTENT on the page, non-inclusive of headers, logo etc.

    I hope ive explained this correctly. It may or may not be relevent to your situation.

    I was surprised how nicely they communicated with me and really did try to help me resolve the issue. After a few days it had been changed to suit them and since then, all was fine.
     
  6. payattention

    payattention Archived Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yeah, by blocks I meant to say ad units. AFAIK, you are allowed 3 ad units, 3 link units and 2 search boxes all on the same page.

    Shags, are you confusing an entire website with a page? They are not synonymous even though they sound the same.
     
  7. DavidL

    DavidL Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    19
    auDA Member:
    Yes
    Ah thanks for the info Jonathan & Snooks.

    I don't know why they wouldn't just force a limit on the ad blocks/units rather than allow you to do it then rap the knuckles when you do.
     
  8. Chris.C

    Chris.C Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    124
    Wow! Is this a new rule?

    I don't ever remember hearing about this change.

    LMAO I remember back in the day (think 2006 and 2007) when the only thing I had above the fold on some article pages were Google AdSense units.

    Ahhh... those were the days.

    ;)

     
  9. seolyka2

    seolyka2 Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    According to Google Adsense Help, the rules for placing ads are:

    - three AdSense for content units on one webpage
    - a maximum of three link units and two search boxes on each webpage

    http://www.google.com/adsense/support/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=9735
     
  10. shags38

    shags38 Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    7
    Not in this case General - this site is not about symphonies, music is not my thing and in any case symphonies sound the same to me - it is an articles page (3d articles of course - yes, someone has written one) with about 60 articles and page breaks every 1000 to 1500 words or every 3-4 articles on average so that the url = http:/www.example.xxx/artciles-03.html as an example of page 3 of the "articles page" www.example.co/articles.html and so on.

    cheers,
    Shags

    p.s. did you enjoy the play on words :) - just like playing first fiddle in a synonymous band thingy
     
  11. shags38

    shags38 Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks for the input fellas - great help.

    When I have time I will make the page breaks in the example I gave at every 500 words or so instead of the 1000-1500 which will give me more pages which means I can put in more ads :)

    I doubt anyone reads the articles anyway beyond page 1 or 2 (analytics would tell me if I was really interested to know) - the articles are there just to make the robots feel like they are needed. To make any sense of the articles one would have to have had a grade free edjukation diplowmar in broken engrish from the Centrwul Chineees Arcardermy of Articurated Ritingk for Websytes. (seriously, how do these so called Article sites approve such rubbish and why do parking sites use them as content?) I used to get an article and correct the English then modify a bit for originality - now I don't bother - the googlebots didn't get their diproamer ennyweigh. :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011
  12. Snooks

    Snooks Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    2
    Isnt this exactly what Farmer and the Panda Update were about? Negating any benefits from these types of articles.
     
  13. djuqa

    djuqa Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just because google has a MAXIMUM number quoted does not mean you should USE that as a guide.
    "Less is More" is a good metric for google ads.
    Effective placement, relevance and size is a MORE important guide for Google ads than Number.
     
  14. payattention

    payattention Archived Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    20
    Cant help but be a contrarian huh djuqa.
     
  15. Chris.C

    Chris.C Membership: VIP

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    124
    I don't know if I have ever used the maximum number of Google Ads on a site, yet the majority of my sites get CTR higher than my parked pages which are nothing but ads...

    Less can be more.
     
  16. djuqa

    djuqa Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    2
    No, A realist!

    J.B how about you contribute some original arguments, rather than just discounting or contradicting my input.
    Your constant antagonism is getting a little OLD!
    I have tried to be friendly, peaceable, even-handed, but you continue to harass, annoy and ridicule any thing I say.

    Just because google says Maximum of 3 Ad blocks doesn't mean using all 3 will Maximise the INCOME.
    My statement is based on not only my own observations, but those of several other major users of adsense on Namepros.com and other Major DOMAINING fora in the states.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  17. payattention

    payattention Archived Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    20
    You're not a realist. You spout off at the mouth about shit you don't even know much about. I've seen your minisites djuqa, you're no expert when it comes to Adsense. You have the wrong colours with the wrong ad units in the wrong spots.

    Using all 3 adblocks is going to be more profitable for people 95% of the time than just using 1.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 22, 2011
  18. djuqa

    djuqa Membership: Trader

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    2
    MORE drivel .
    And another further example of the type of comments you seem only capable of making.
    I have been using adsense since sept 2004 on over 1200 sites in total
    Yes I know little about Using adsense.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  19. payattention

    payattention Archived Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yet in PM you're begging to be friends and giving me advice on how to conduct myself lol.
     
  20. sp@rky13

    sp@rky13 Membership: Community

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know the issue you two have with each other and I'll ignore that but:

    From what I was reading yesterday, it is often more profitable with say 2 as opposed to 3 adsense blocks. The reasons for this is that it will often run out of ads to display if you use 3 on a page. As well as this, your most profitable ad may be in the middle of the page which may mean that 2 other ads will have already taken the most profitable ads.

    Also, having a zillion ads means that your bounce rate will go up as people will leave your site far quicker.

    These are my opinions combined with a small amount of research. I think I'm right but happy to be proven wrong :)