DN Trade
Domain Names

Go Back   DN Trade > Community > Domain News
VentraIP
Register FAQ Members List Domain Registrar Pricing Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-11, 02:16 PM
Admin Admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,131
Default Scam Alert

I've just been made aware of a scam where a caller is using auDA's name in an attempt to put the frighteners on people.

A friend of mine (X) received a call this morning from an anonymous male caller. The person said that they were from auDA, and just wanted to give X a "confidential" heads up that auDA had received complaints on 5 domains, and that he would be receiving standard letters from his Registrar advising him of potential Policy Delete. The caller suggested he avoid an audit and try and "get rid of the domains" asap.

My friend was gobsmacked and called me. I said it sounded suss.

About 30 minutes later, he phoned me again to say he had received another call. This time the person "identified" himself as "Gary Smith" at auDA and basically repeated the message. He urged X to act urgently. If he had any queries, he could contact auDA at info@auDA.org.au.

I phoned auDA and enquired if there was a "Gary Smith" working there. Negative. So it was total bullshit.

No doubt X would start receiving "offers" on these domains, and because he was panicky, he would sell them for less than they were worth.

Fortunately, the caller wasn't too smart. They phoned X's business number which is a 1300 number. Even though they tried to block their number, Optus records the origin of every call. So X has the number.

X phoned the number and had a "chat". The guy said he was a "security consultant" working for some people that wished to acquire certain domain names. Apparently his clients had TM's on these names (which also sounds total bullshit). The guy then had the audacity to offer X a lowball for two of the names.

X told him to make a "sexual departure", and said if he ever called again he would report him to the Police.

So be aware. The impostor had done enough background checking on his target to have sufficient information to make himself appear believable. Classic scam.
.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-11, 02:21 PM
Cooper Mills DomainLawyer Cooper Mills DomainLawyer is offline
Verified User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 422
Default

auDA should be made aware of this, if they already haven't been. From my experience auDA will only contact people in writing not by telephone.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-11, 02:24 PM
Ash Ash is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 685
Default

Good thing you and your friend are on the ball! I can see how this would work on some.
__________________
Lucky Dip Design | Free Logo Design
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-11, 02:30 PM
Admin Admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooper Mills DomainLawyer View Post
From my experience auDA will only contact people in writing not by telephone.
Correct.

Regardless of whether your best mate works there, auDA have to observe "due process" (and they do).

But the caller was trying to play the sympathy card - "sorry you've been targeted etc; just wanted to give you a heads up before it becomes official" - that sort of crap.

And if you've had a couple of challenges in the past, the last thing you want is more trouble - so you might be inclined to take the easy road. That's what con men prey on.
.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-11, 02:40 PM
FirstPageResults's Avatar
FirstPageResults FirstPageResults is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,209
Default

Pathetic scum, astounding some people will stoop so low out of greed and jealousy.

Thanks for getting the word out.
__________________
Index > Rank > Monetise
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-11, 02:42 PM
djuqa's Avatar
djuqa djuqa is offline
Verified User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Admin View Post
X told him to make a "sexual departure", and said if he ever called again he would report him to the Police.
Don't wait until 'Next Time' , contact the Federal Police and make an official complaint NOW.
__________________
Managing Million Dollar Sites since 2004
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-11, 09:13 PM
Chris.C's Avatar
Chris.C Chris.C is offline
Verified User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djuqa View Post
Don't wait until 'Next Time' , contact the Federal Police and make an official complaint NOW.
+1!

Letting this bloke get away with it, without at least giving a bloody good fright, just shows him it's worth the risk!

Someone needs to make an example of him to prevent it happening in the future and setting a precedent for how it can be quickly dealt with.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-11, 08:46 PM
smee smee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Admin View Post
I've just been made aware of a scam where a caller is using auDA's name in an attempt to put the frighteners on people.

A friend of mine (X) received a call this morning from an anonymous male caller. The person said that they were from auDA, and just wanted to give X a "confidential" heads up that auDA had received complaints on 5 domains, and that he would be receiving standard letters from his Registrar advising him of potential Policy Delete. The caller suggested he avoid an audit and try and "get rid of the domains" asap.

My friend was gobsmacked and called me. I said it sounded suss.

About 30 minutes later, he phoned me again to say he had received another call. This time the person "identified" himself as "Gary Smith" at auDA and basically repeated the message. He urged X to act urgently. If he had any queries, he could contact auDA at info@auDA.org.au.

I phoned auDA and enquired if there was a "Gary Smith" working there. Negative. So it was total bullshit.

No doubt X would start receiving "offers" on these domains, and because he was panicky, he would sell them for less than they were worth.

Fortunately, the caller wasn't too smart. They phoned X's business number which is a 1300 number. Even though they tried to block their number, Optus records the origin of every call. So X has the number.

X phoned the number and had a "chat". The guy said he was a "security consultant" working for some people that wished to acquire certain domain names. Apparently his clients had TM's on these names (which also sounds total bullshit). The guy then had the audacity to offer X a lowball for two of the names.

X told him to make a "sexual departure", and said if he ever called again he would report him to the Police.

So be aware. The impostor had done enough background checking on his target to have sufficient information to make himself appear believable. Classic scam.
.
It would be nice if you posted up the scammers phone number so others can be informed: http://whocalled.us/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-11, 09:07 PM
Admin Admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smee View Post
It would be nice if you posted up the scammers phone number so others can be informed: http://whocalled.us/
It's not up to me to do that.

Needless to say, the matter has been reported. Unfortunately though, the calls weren't recorded, so not much can really happen.

But the purpose of posting this incident here was to make others aware of the situation. Forewarned is forearmed.
.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-11, 10:27 PM
James's Avatar
James James is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,211
Default

Not good soo many scammers and scum people out in the market.

The worst thing is non savvy or new domainers may be caught out with this scam.
__________________
Check out my sites: Sydney SEO and Social Media|SEO Australia |Professional SEO |Life Insurance Cover |
Backlinks
For Professional SEO and Social Media Consulting from a well known local consultant, Linkbuilding and more email: contact(at)professionalseo.com.au (Say you are from DNTrade, too be looked after!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum SEO by Zoints
Hosted by VentrIP