DN Trade
Domain Names

Go Back   DN Trade > Community > Domain News
VentraIP
Register FAQ Members List Domain Registrar Pricing Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 14-09-11, 05:41 PM
James's Avatar
James James is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,210
Default

I think for any one who has done business with Pacific Octane and knows James personally you know that he did purchase the said domain in good faith.

It was not a case of cyber squatting at all, I have worked on several charity campaigns (example)with James Wester in the past and also had many meetings with him so I know he is a good guy to work with.

I do not feel that the media has put a good spin on this at all and has not taken the good context from the story they have only taken the bad.
__________________
Check out my sites: Sydney SEO and Social Media|SEO Australia |Professional SEO |Life Insurance Cover |
Backlinks
For Professional SEO and Social Media Consulting from a well known local consultant, Linkbuilding and more email: contact(at)professionalseo.com.au (Say you are from DNTrade, too be looked after!)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 14-09-11, 06:08 PM
Shane's Avatar
Shane Shane is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 764
Default

I read the original article in the Courier Mail and didn't think too much of it. I can't believe how it's blown up, and I think it's totally unfair on James.

I haven't had much to do with James, but we have exchanged a few emails and he seems like a good bloke. By all accounts he did try to transfer the name at no cost, so I don't see what all the fuss is about. It would be nice if MK's people would come out and corroborate the story, but I guess they have no reason to do so.

The stupid media will take any chance to shoot someone down, and unfortunately, going by the comments on the SMH website, the general public are keen to lap it up and stick the boot in too.
__________________
SMSF
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 14-09-11, 06:40 PM
Admin Admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
.....and knows James personally you know that he did purchase the said domain in good faith.

I do not feel that the media has put a good spin on this at all and has not taken the good context from the story they have only taken the bad.
James, I agree with you with regards the intent - and the media spin.

And as to how it got into the media, well that's probably another story.

But what I've been trying to get across is that if you contravene auDA's rules - whether innocently or otherwise - then you are asking for trouble.

In simple terms, auDA "got him" because he did not have a "close and substantial" connection to the domain name - and it was "brought to their attention". They are a complaints based organisation.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 14-09-11, 08:14 PM
James's Avatar
James James is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,210
Default

James Wester has posted more on this here: http://jameswester.com/blog/official...-com-au-issue/

I guess we will hear more about this story soon.
__________________
Check out my sites: Sydney SEO and Social Media|SEO Australia |Professional SEO |Life Insurance Cover |
Backlinks
For Professional SEO and Social Media Consulting from a well known local consultant, Linkbuilding and more email: contact(at)professionalseo.com.au (Say you are from DNTrade, too be looked after!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum SEO by Zoints
Hosted by VentrIP