![]() |
|
|
|||||||
| Register | FAQ | Members List | Domain Registrar Pricing | Rules | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
An article has been posted in computerworld.com.au yesterday, with quite a colourful headline:
"Miranda Kerr cybersquatter charged by auDA" The domain is in the name of Pacific Octane. The headline itself is incendiary, and makes it appear as if James Wester has been arrested or charged on summons or something! Thankfully that is one power that auDA do not have! ![]() Here is the article: http://www.computerworld.com.au/arti...y_auda#closeme James Wester has replied on his own blog: http://jameswester.com/blog/ I don't know the facts behind this, but I'm sure they will come out in time. There may be things we don't know. James has indicated he intends taking legal action - against who and on what basis I'm not sure of at this stage. However, I will make this general observation - auDA do have clearly defined policies for the .au space. We may not like or agree with some of them, but until they are changed, they are the rules, and if you don't abide by them, then you are potentially asking for trouble. |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
I noticed there was a similar article on the DNS mailing list yesterday titled "auDA kicks out Miranda Kerr cybersquatter":
http://www.itwire.com/business-it-ne...-cybersquatter
__________________
Index > Rank > Monetise |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
He gets a more sympathetic mention here http://www.couriermail.com.au/ipad/b...-1226123572851
|
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
I didn't realise when I posted this morning that this issue had already been posted on the auDA website (yesterday). I read about it this morning on another forum.
Here is the auDA article: http://www.auda.org.au/news-archive/12092011/ It refers to the Courier Mail article that you referenced Bacon Farmer. I have spoken with James this morning re this issue, and, as is always the case, there is always more than one side to a story. I can't and won't say anymore than that for obvious reasons. |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Looks like the original article has been deleted; smart move given the bullshit title. So sick of journo editorials instead of reporting the facts.
|
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
+1
|
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
3 major mistakes here,
1. Registering MirandaKerr.com.au 2. Offering it to her 3. Thinking the media would treat him well
__________________
Net.au - Trusted by The Goulburn Railway Bowling Club and other leading businesses. Menu now online! Sunday Special: $9.90 MEAL DEAL - STEAK or SCHNITZEL with CHIP & SALAD or VEGETABLES + A FREE OF "BRUER BRIGHT" BEER. |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
+1
|
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
What is the policy that makes registering Miranda's name a mistake? It appears it was OK by AUDA for someone else to register jameswester.com.au Regards Ho
__________________
Joes.com.au |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
It doesn't require a policy to state that a registration like this is a mistake, -The name is worth nothing -The name represents someone popular and high profile -Registering it looks like a squat It has got all the elements of a "deletion" and approaching Miranda Kerr and speaking to the media has the elements of PR disaster. AUDA probably don't care much about jameswester.com.au, and neither does the media.
__________________
Net.au - Trusted by The Goulburn Railway Bowling Club and other leading businesses. Menu now online! Sunday Special: $9.90 MEAL DEAL - STEAK or SCHNITZEL with CHIP & SALAD or VEGETABLES + A FREE OF "BRUER BRIGHT" BEER. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|