DN Trade
Domain Names

Go Back   DN Trade > Community > Domain News
Domain Sponsor
Register FAQ Members List Domain Registrar Pricing Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18-02-10, 01:22 PM
neddy neddy is offline
Verified User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,132
Default Disappointment plus!

How's this for a range of emotions! I'm searching on MelbIT for a domain name, and suddenly I see mountainbikes.com.au is available! Couldn't be I thought. So I tried to reg on Hostess, but was unavailable.

Aah I thought - must be a glitch. But then I thought I'd try and reg on MelbIT, even if it does cost more dough. Signed up, and then attempted purchase. It went through - my poor heart can almost not handle it! I get emailed c/c receipt and confirmation etc, but then I see on the bottom it says "failed transaction".

So I phone them, and yes, terribly sorry, there is an error. "We will refund your c/c".

And believe it or not, 1 minute ago it is still showing as available on Melb IT!

See attachment.

Last edited by neddy; 19-10-10 at 08:10 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-02-10, 01:35 PM
soj's Avatar
soj soj is offline
Founder
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 667
Default

Wouldn't be the first time its happened to me either, gets very frustrating when you see some awesome domains available and then you get the email giving you the bad news.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-02-10, 09:25 AM
Drop.com.au's Avatar
Drop.com.au Drop.com.au is offline
DN Trade Sponsor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 497
Default

My Advice, when you see results that are too good to be true - don't forget to run a whois check. Regardless of what a registrar shows, there is nothing more definitive than the registry. If you are a mac user, just use the terminal app (in your network tools) - uber quick and works on all domain suffixes.

Also, if you have any experience with simple coding, take a look at this page. You can get availability responses (no whois data just Avail / Not Avail)
Whois-Based Domain Name Availability Check
http://whois.ausregistry.com.au/whoi...heck.jsp?tab=0

Systems currently relying on Whois Search for Domain Name Availability Checks can implement the following method to avoid the likelihood of blacklisting. The format of the request is a text string of the Domain Name followed by a `\r\n' as per a standard Whois request. The service will then respond with either the string `Available' or `Not Available' depending upon whether or not the domain is available for registration.
For Example

To check the availability of ausregistry.net.au follow these steps:

1. Connect to:
Address: whois-check.ausregistry.net.au
Port: 43
2. Send the string `ausregistry.net.au\r\n' to the server
3. The server will respond with `Not Available' and then close the connection.

The above procedure is compatible with standard Whois protocol; hence any reseller interface that is built to use Whois will be able to use this system as well.

Alternatively, the standard *nix whois command can be used as follows:

whois -h <server address> <domain name>

PLEASE NOTE - THIS SERVICE IS NOT SUBJECT TO THE REGULAR WHOIS SEARCH BLACKLISTING RULES. HOWEVER, EXCESSIVE USE OF THIS SERVICE MAY RESULT IN YOUR IP ADDRESS BEING BANNED AT AUSREGISTRY'S DISCRETION.
PS: when you have a list to register don't forget to use us at DROP.com.au for your registrations

https://www.drop.com.au/my_account/domainchecker.php

Best Regards,
George Pongas
__________________
--
DROP | Drop Catch Specialists.
http://www.drop.com.au

FabulousDomains | over 12,000 Premium com.au Domains!
http://www.FabulousDomains.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-02-10, 09:40 AM
neddy neddy is offline
Verified User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,132
Default

Hi George,

I'm old school - I knew that if it was too good to be true; I'd probably be right! But given that it was Melbourne IT, thought it would be worth a punt just in case. Nothing to lose, apart from $70 for a few days - and everything to gain.

Just as a matter of interest, it took MelbIt about 3 hours to remove the "available" tag on the listing. Is anyone from MelbIt a forum member?

With regards your technical advice, I'm afraid it is mumbo-jumbo to a troglodyte like me. But thank you anyway!

Cheers, Ned
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-02-10, 10:31 AM
FirstPageResults's Avatar
FirstPageResults FirstPageResults is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,023
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drop.com.au View Post

PLEASE NOTE - THIS SERVICE IS NOT SUBJECT TO THE REGULAR WHOIS SEARCH BLACKLISTING RULES. HOWEVER, EXCESSIVE USE OF THIS SERVICE MAY RESULT IN YOUR IP ADDRESS BEING BANNED AT AUSREGISTRY'S DISCRETION.
Or you could build yourself a little application to scrape the whole WHOIS, including status info whilst hiding your identity using TOR and just hammer
__________________
Index > Rank > Monetise
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-02-10, 10:48 AM
Drop.com.au's Avatar
Drop.com.au Drop.com.au is offline
DN Trade Sponsor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FirstPageResults View Post
Or you could build yourself a little application to scrape the whole WHOIS, including status info whilst hiding your identity using TOR and just hammer
I'm sorry, but what you described above is a breach of Policy. I do not advocate engaging in such activities and my personal opinion is that taking this approach just forces auDA and our greater industry to look at the domaining space as being an illegitimate and negative blight of the .au domain space.

If we want to elevate the domaining world as a serious and legitimate business concern in .au - then we need to play by the rules and follow policy.

WHOIS Policy (2006-06)
Policy No: 2006-06
Publication Date: 19/11/2006
Status: Current
http://www.auda.org.au/policies/auda-2006-06/

The whois policy above was originally drafted to protect registrants from renewal scams. We have all seen the dodgy 'Domains Of America' emails and letters, and I have come in contact over the years with many people that paid hundreds of dollars for fake domain renewals.

Best Reagrds,
George Pongas
__________________
--
DROP | Drop Catch Specialists.
http://www.drop.com.au

FabulousDomains | over 12,000 Premium com.au Domains!
http://www.FabulousDomains.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-02-10, 11:00 AM
FirstPageResults's Avatar
FirstPageResults FirstPageResults is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,023
Default

You're quite right George. I was just having a little fun - I don't actually do this and in hindsight I probably shouldn't encourage others to do so.
__________________
Index > Rank > Monetise
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum SEO by Zoints
Hosted by VentrIP