DN Trade
Domain Names

Go Back   DN Trade > Community > General Domain Discussion
Domain Sponsor
Register FAQ Members List Domain Registrar Pricing Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-08, 09:10 AM
DomainMarketPlace's Avatar
DomainMarketPlace DomainMarketPlace is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 178
Default Did anyone else get this email?

NEWS TIP OFF - AUDA Officially Accredited domain name registrars caught red handed by AUDA.ORG.AU but what an AUDA really do to stop it?

It appears some of the biggest AUDA Accredited Domain name registrars in Australia have been caught fraudulently breaching policy by www.auda.org.au to try and cash in on the high value of generic .com.au domain names themselves!

One of the largest registrars may be facing the loss of thousands of domain names they have seemingly registered for their own use and perhaps aftermarket premium priced resale in breach of auda.org.au policy http://www.auda.org.au/policies/auda-2008-11/

4. BREACH OF POLICY

4.1 Where auDA determines that a registrar has breached the Registrar Agreement or the Code of Practice as clarified by this Published Policy, auDA may delete the affected domain name(s), in addition to any other remedies available to it.

Here is one example of a company ( many different names and entities) currently involved it seems
Domain Central
AUSTRALIAN STYLE IP DISCRETIONARY TRUST
BOTTLE DOMAINS
NAME.COM.AU

Some registrars have themselves registered thousands of .com.au names in breach of policy. Many still use the names via parking / monetisation programs and a few have also started offering them for sale in the "Premium" domain name aftermarket
where names can be sold for 6 and 7 figure sums.


Domain Name: classmate.com.au
Last Modified: 30-May-2008 03:40:54 UTC
Registrar ID: Domain Central
Registrar Name: Domain Central
Status: serverUpdateProhibited (auDA Request RT 1780)
Status: serverTransferProhibited (auDA Request RT 1780)
Status: serverDeleteProhibited (auDA Request RT 1780)
Status: serverRenewProhibited (auDA Request RT 1780)
Status: inactive

Registrant: THE TRUSTEE FOR AUSTRALIAN STYLE IP DISCRETIONARY TRUST
Registrant ID: ABN 29498868712
Eligibility Type: Company

Registrant Contact ID: C058558-DC
Registrant Contact Name: Domain Manager
Registrant Contact Email: Visit whois.ausregistry.com.au for Web based WhoIs

Tech Contact ID: C058558-DC
Tech Contact Name: Domain Manager
Tech Contact Email: Visit whois.ausregistry.com.au for Web based WhoIs

With the high value of .com.au generic names maybe some registrars have used inside information and domain name tracking and registering software systems to buy up these valuable assets for their own use
http://www.melbourneit.com.au/cc/dom...m-domain-names

www.sedo.com
www.moniker.com
www.afternic.com
www.domainshed.com.au
www.netfleet.com.au
www.nameseek.com.au
http://www.domaintradingpost.com.au/
www.greatdomains.com
http://www.dnjournal.com/domainsales.htm

Let's see exactly what the ACCC and AUDA do to expose and prosecute the various AUDA Accredited Registrars of this massive scam that has been going on for years under their noses.
https://www.bottledomains.com.au/accreditation.html

How many of the accredited AUDA registrars are involved or are being investigated by AUDA and the ACCC over this apparent Fraud and AUDA Policy breach? http://www.auda.org.au/registrars/ac...ed-registrars/

How many of the registars have bought names for themselves in breach of policy or have doine it using different entities, family to stay under the Registrar Policy breach radar etc etc

With some domain names being sold for over $5 million each now on the Premium domain aftermarket it's obvious some Registrars may have been tempted to register names for themselves in breach of Registrar policy.
http://blog.wired.com/business/2008/...om-domain.html

http://blog.wired.com/business/2007/...t-busines.html Jackpot! Business.com Sells for $350 Million

But does AUDA or the ACCC have the resources for a full audit of AUDA accredited Registrar owned domain names? Time will tell if they even bother to try to uncover the full fraud of some AUDA Accredited registrars

ANOTHER REGISTRAR TRIES TO SELL ITS NAME MAIL.COM.AU FOR $1 MILLION!

http://www.netfleet.com.au/index.php?a=d&id=1772

Domain: mail.com.au

Status: ok

Registrant: Enetica Pty Ltd
ABN - 39087987988

Tech ID: BO139159
Tech Email: bennett@webcity.com.au
Tech Contact: Bennett Oprysa
Tech Company: WebCity Australia Pty Ltd


Name Server: ns1.webcity.com.au
Name Server: ns2.webcity.com.au

---------------------------

it came from newstipoffs@hotmail.com. Sound like a joke? I haven't heard of anything from auDA.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-08, 10:54 AM
paz's Avatar
paz paz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 581
Default

The auDA did have a news item about wanting to offload some domains from a de-accredited registrar.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum SEO by Zoints
Hosted by VentrIP