DN Trade
Domain Names

Go Back   DN Trade > Community > General Domain Discussion
VentraIP
Register FAQ Members List Domain Registrar Pricing Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-10-08, 09:00 AM
DavidL DavidL is online now
Verified User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,966
Default

[QUOTE=paz;967]They said the reason was it is a misspelling that is not allowed under auDA policy?
[QUOTE]

Which it clearly isn't. Misspelling of what? From time to time auDA use this an an excuse to get rid of names they feel shouldn't be registered.

The worst one I has was a domain acc.net.au taken from me. They said that it was a misspelling of abc.net.au. (the 'b' on the keyboard isn't even next to the 'c')

I had 7 days to 'prove that it wasn't a misspelling', which of course is impossible. Someone else has since registered it no problems.

I often support auDA with what they do but this is one area which is too open to interpretation IMO. It's impossible to definitively say what is a misspelling and what isn't (put my 2 yr old on the keyboard & he might misspell google.com.au as hsgdjhsdg.com.au!).

Paz, my advice is to write a response as best you can but other than that there's nothing you can really do (without getting lawyers involved etc) so if you lose it, take it in your stride & consider it a bit of blood letting to keep the beast at bay...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-10-08, 10:02 AM
DomainMarketPlace's Avatar
DomainMarketPlace DomainMarketPlace is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 178
Default

I know of someone who tried to register the name 'gurgle.com.au' and was rejected because it was too close to google.

To be honest some registrars wont even let you register names that are clearly typos, trademark infringements or outside of auDA policy. I see this go on all the time,

They do this because:
- they get in trouble from auDA
- protect businesses (if someone sets up a business and then has the name taken away that looks really bad and could destroy an online business)

Some registrars however will just let you register what ever you like even if your not entitled to it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-10-08, 10:57 AM
paz's Avatar
paz paz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 577
Default

auDA have a list of domains not allowed to be registered due to being common typos, and brisbanebroncos.com.au is on that list, however I'm not sure if it has been put on before or after I registered the domain and was contact by auDA.

If they put it on the list after I registered it, then I don't see how it is a typo and this whole thing is ridiculous.

If they it was on the list BEFORE I registered it then hostess (my registrar) should really be checking new registrations against this list and shouldn't allow me to register it (I can't see me getting a refund!).

What if I had started development? Paid a coder or designer or just invested time, if the domain was not suppose to be registered and was on some sort of black list, why was I allowed to pay my money only to have the domain taken 3 days later?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-10-08, 01:18 PM
DavidL DavidL is online now
Verified User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,966
Default

They probably added it just after you registered the name.

I can say categorically that it was not on the list in July last year (which is the last time I downloaded the list).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-10-08, 01:54 PM
Sway's Avatar
Sway Sway is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paz View Post
If they it was on the list BEFORE I registered it then hostess (my registrar) should really be checking new registrations against this list and shouldn't allow me to register it (I can't see me getting a refund!).
Seeing that Hostess is a Netregistry company, i would have thought they would have stopped this one upon registration, as in the past they have been one of the more policy abiding registrars out there. Anyway this is further proof of what i was saying the other day (here) when considering to invest in .au's
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-10-08, 02:07 PM
TroyWhiteInternet's Avatar
TroyWhiteInternet TroyWhiteInternet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 237
Default

I don't understand how it's a misspelling - could someone explain?

The relevant policy appears to be this one: http://www.auda.org.au/policies/auda-2008-09/. However, your domain doesn't appear to be a misspelling and therefore I don't see how it applies.

I would think they would be more likely to knock it back due to the NRL trademarks ie if you use it commercially you may infringe the trademark but if you don't use it commercially then your not eligible for the .com.au.

Last edited by TroyWhiteInternet; 03-10-08 at 02:16 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-10-08, 02:30 PM
DomainMarketPlace's Avatar
DomainMarketPlace DomainMarketPlace is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 178
Default

I've found NetRegistry to be a little relaxed about auDA policy when registering domains... i know i have registered a few names there that would've been knocked back at other registrars.

Also the name definately would've been added to the blacklist after auDA found out about the registration. Some registrars such as Cheaper Domains cross check the black list during the registration process, but i guess not many registrars are fully automated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum SEO by Zoints
Hosted by VentrIP